Skip to content

The Founding Fathers of Irish Independence: A Historical Look at the First Dáil Éireann

A Group Photograph Of The Members Of The First Dáil Éireann: Pictured: D. Mulcahy (Clontarf), Con. Collins (W. Limerick), P. Shanahan (Harbour), R. Barton (W. Wicklow), E. Duggan (S. Meath), P. Beasley (E. Kerry), Dr J. Ryan (S. Wexford), Dr Crowley (N. Mayo), J. Bourke (N. Tipperary), S. J. O’swiney (Donegal), Kevin O’Higgins (Queen’s Co.), D. Buckley (N. Kildare), J. Ward (S. Donegal), P. J. Moloney (S. Tipperary), R. Sweetman (N. Wexford), J. Doherty (N. Donegal), John Hayes (W. Cork), J. J. O’kelly (Louth), Count Plunkett (Roscommon), Cathal Brugha (Waterford), J. T. O’kelly (College Green), P. O’Malley (Galway), J. J. Walsh (Cork), Ald. Thos. Kelly (Stephen’s Green)., 1919.

The photograph depicts 27 members of the First Dáil, including some of the most prominent figures in the Irish nationalist movement, such as Con Collins, Cathal Brugha, and Kevin O’Higgins. The members represent various regions of Ireland, and they were all elected in the 1918 general election, which was held under the banner of Sinn Féin, a political party that advocated for Irish independence.

The First Dáil’s Primary Objective Was To Establish An Independent Irish Republic, Separate From British Rule. During Their First Meeting, The Members Of The First Dáil Approved A Declaration Of Independence, Which Declared Ireland To Be A Sovereign State. The Members Also Established A Provisional Government And Elected Cathal Brugha As Its First President.

The photograph is a valuable historical document that provides insight into the people who led the Irish struggle for independence. The First Dáil was a significant moment in Irish history, and it paved the way for the establishment of the modern Irish state. The members of the First Dáil were passionate and committed nationalists who were willing to risk their lives for the cause of Irish freedom, and their legacy continues to inspire people around the world today.

Join The Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *