c.134
17 archived items
January 10 items
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View Image
George Street
Before becoming Cannocks, the premises at 134 George Street, now O’Connell Street, housed a successful drapery business dating from around 1814. By the mid-nineteenth century, the shop was operated by Cumine and Mitchell and was regarded as a high-class retail establishment. In 1850, Scottish businessmen George Cannock and John Arnott purchased the property, establishing Cannocks and Company, which developed into one of Limerick’s best-known department stores. The business remained a prominent feature of the city’s commercial life for generations. In 1980, the store was sold to Penneys, which continues to occupy the historic site today on O’Connell Street in Limerick.
View ImageFebruary 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
March 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
April 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
May 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
June 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
July 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
August 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
September 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
October 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
November 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.
December 0 items
No published items are currently assigned to this period.